jump to navigation

DSM-5 To Keep NPD Alive July 25, 2011

Posted by alwaysjan in Narcissistic Personality Disorder.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

In the latest draft of the DSM-5 (due out in 2013) Narcissistic Personality Disorder (NPD) is back!

I’ve written extensively about the American Psychiatric Association’s original proposal to scrap four personality disorders, the most important, at least in my universe, being NPD. But so much has happened! To catch up with the back story, you can read DSM-IV to Ignore Narcissists?  Part 3 which includes links to earlier posts.

Those wacky folks at the APA, who like to root around in other people’s psyches often looking for their mother, evidently poured over comments submitted by the public and saw the writing on the wall. (Okay, they saw it backwards because it was reflected by a mirror.) The people have spoken.

To view the latest draft of the DSM-5 (Yes, they did finally ditch those Roman numerals), click HERE.  (Updated June 21, 2011.) Make sure you click on the DSM-IV link on top to see what the soon-to-be OLD diagnostic criteria for NPD was so you can compare the two. Special thanks to Hermite for alerting me to these changes. :)

FYI: The first attempt to classify mental disorders in the U.S. was to collect statistical information. According to Wikipedia, this data was collected in the 1840 census which used a single category, “idiocy/insanity.” Those who’ve had a Close Encounter with a Narcissist should be familiar with both of these due to their crazy making behavior. Enjoy.


Comments»

1. elissestuart - July 26, 2011

Great post. Named or not, I don’t think NPD will go away.
ES

ES, I think that having it identified as a separate disorder gives it more, dare I say, respect? The alternative would be for NPD to morph into Psychopathy Lite. :) Jan

Like

2. shoutabyss - July 26, 2011

NPD shoots and scores! It’s the comeback of the year!

Shout,
We’ve still got five months left. Let’s see if Anthony Weiner bounces back before you do the victory dance. LOL. Also, now the field trials begin. (Why is it that makes me think of pointers flushing out birds?) Since those with NPD have to be literally dragged into a therapist’s office, the field is a rather barren one indeed. Jan

Like

3. Tracy - July 27, 2011

Thank God Jan!

I was just gob-smacked when I read that NPD was possibly going to be removed from the DSM. I fully believe that these percentages/statistics are massively off the mark when its announced that 1- 3% or so are afflicted with NPD…That in itself is crazy when you consider that this is a disorder characterized by people NOT believing that they have a problem. That means that the majority of cases are never diagnosed- not that they do not exist.

Another point I rarely see mentioned is that The NPD person does, in fact, have a certain level of control over their behaviours. My ex was quite good at reserving her wrath/rages until there were no possible witnesses. That alone points to a certain level of responsibility for their actions that they are not properly pulled up for if you constantly say they cannot control their behaviour.

Anyway, all that to say~ the newest definition sounds much clearer and more encompassing to what you can expect than the older version. Glad to see it.

Tracy

Tracy,
Ditto, ditto, ditto! Now, the new diagnostic criteria is being given a test drive to see if all this holds up. But as you say, those with NPD won’t be found in the therapist’s office, so that in itself presents a problem
.

The original plan to eliminate NPD as a Personality Disorder was because it was found that 50 percent of those diagnosed with NPD could also be diagnosed with another personality disorder. I imagine that would be Borderline for most women and Psychopathy for most men. For the hell these people inflict on others, NPD definitely deserves a disorder of its own! Jan

Like

4. Hermite - July 29, 2011

Thanks to you, Jan. It was reading your “Close Encounters” article, followed by Elisse Stuart’s that showed me what I was dealing with at a time I thought I was losing my mind. You helped pull me through, along with a couple of chat rooms for us D&Ds. And this year I had the courage to start my own blog about it. It’s http://reflectionsonbrokenglass.blogspot.com/ if you’re interested, and please feel free to delete this if you feel it’s inappropriate. I’m new to this, ya know. The warning at the beginning is just for the F word. Start with Chapter 1, the oldest post. And thanks again.

Hermite,
Writing about the experience was an incredibly cathartic experience for me. The icing on the cake is the comments I receive, like yours, telling me that my writing was helpful. I’m actually having lunch with Elisse next week (we met in an online chat room four years ago and have since met in real life). I’ll pass along your message. :) Now, I’m off to read your blog! Having had A Close Encounter with A Narcissist, the F-word doesn’t scare me! LOL Jan

Like

elissestuart - July 30, 2011

Hermite – what PJ doesn’t know is that I’m reading this right now. :) I will add your blog to my honor roll as well…the F-word doesn’t scare me either.
It’s true – she and I “met” in a chat room – it would so piss the N off to know that because of him, relationships weren’t destroyed – but rather created.
Elisse

Like

Hermite - July 30, 2011

Wow, you guys sure put a big smile on my face this morning. You will see that my situation created some phenomenal new friendships for me, too. And the N did not like that one bit. He has tried to interfere with that; fortunately most people see through his guise now.

Like

5. Tracy - July 31, 2011

To Hermite~

Congrats on surviving the NPD. In full-force, they are crushing- like an emotional steamroller- only worse…As I started to read your blog, I began to feel sick- then dread- knowing the signs as I do now…You poor thing- so glad you made it out- good on ya!

Cheers!

Tracy
PS- awesome blog- brilliant!

Hey Tracy,
You’re up late, oh, make that early. I couldn’t sleep so I actually just powered through all 26 chapters of Hermite’s blog. What can I say? Hindsite is 20/20. As I commented on her blog, early on I felt like I was at the movies and could see the monster in the shadows. I wanted to yell, “Get out now!” It’s amazing how these people always have a justification (excuse) for why they do what they do. Why we buy into their crap is a whole different issue. I suppose that us humans always want to see the best in people. Jan

Like

6. Hermite - August 1, 2011

Thank you, Tracy. Appreciate it. And Jan, too, for sticking through it in spite of the horror. I was never so flabbergasted as when that cop said those words to me. I’m thinking, “No, not me! No way. I’m too smart for that.” Yeah, right. It’s not easy to admit you were set up like a bowling pin.

Like

7. Catherine Sherman - August 5, 2011

On a repeat edition of Jeopardy today, a question was about the relationship of Narcissus and Echo.

“One day when Narcissus was out hunting stags, Echo stealthily followed the handsome youth through the woods longing to address him but unable to speak first. When Narcissus finally heard footsteps and shouted “Who’s there?”, Echo answered “Who’s there?” And so it went, until finally Echo showed herself and rushed to embrace the lovely youth. He pulled away from the nymph and vainly told her to leave him alone. Narcissus left Echo heartbroken, and she spent the rest of her life in lonely glens pining away for the love she never knew, crying until all that was left was her voice.” http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Echo_(mythology)

There’s a lesson here for those of us who’ve been enraptured by a Narcissist. Save your voice for someone who deserves it!

Cathy,
Knowing what a Jeopardy junkie you are, I hope you were treated to Alex Trebec reading that entire passage! Jan

Like


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 334 other followers

