jump to navigation

Quotation Rotation #6 August 3, 2008

Posted by alwaysjan in Quotation Rotation.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

“FOO” – MSN NPD Forum

FOO is an acronym for Family of Origin. I first encountered it on MSN’s Narcissistic Personality Disorder (NPD) Forum.  As a teacher, I thought I had the corner on acronyms, but there was an entire list I needed to learn just to decipher posts by members.  Let’s face it.  A lot of the baggage we carry through life was packed during our formative years.  Example of usage:  “I think the reason I was attracted to this abusive sh*% of a man is because of FOO issues (as in my father was also an abusive sh*%!)

FOO is not to be confused with The Foo Fighters, an offshoot of the band Nirvana with Dave Grohl as the front man.  It is possible though, if your family get-togethers include biting sarcasm, drunken tirades, or knockdown brawls, that your family could indeed be FOO Fighters.

Comments»

1. Catherine Sherman - August 4, 2008

I loved this. Don’t we all pack a lot of baggage in our early years? What will our children have to say about our dirty family laundry? .

Like

2. alwaysjan - August 4, 2008

I tend to think children return home with the same dirty laundry they left with. I’ve got the washer going as I write this.

Like

3. ES - August 6, 2008

Where DID you find my family’s photo!!!!!

Like


Leave a Reply

