jump to navigation

Santa Sees Red December 23, 2008

Posted by alwaysjan in Holidays.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

commie5

I should have known that my “I, Santa Claus” post, in which I revealed how I’d told my son the TRUTH about Santa, would meet with disbelief. Yesterday, Santa himself responded with a letter to my now 22-year-old son, Ian.  The envelope was red; the writing in silver script.  It’s not every day you receive a letter with The North Pole as the return address.  

I couldn’t help but notice that Santa’s letter had been postmarked in Chicago.   I always figured Santa for a Midwesterner, what with his weight issues and all.  But our friend Nora also lives in Chicago, and I know she divides her time between acting and elving.  Coincidence?

I delivered the envelope to Ian, who was lying in bed, waylaid by the flu. When he ripped it open, silver snowflakes cascaded onto his bed.  He said something Santa wouldn’t approve of.

“What does it say?” I couldn’t contain my excitement any longer.   Ian read aloud, “Ian, Your parents are commies – I have ALWAYS existed!”  (Oh, SO Nora!)

Ian opened the card.   Both Santa and Nora had signed it, along with the Easter Bunny, and the Tooth Fairy.

Ian looked confused.  “I don’t get it.  What are commies?”  he asked earnestly.  I thought about giving him one of my “teacher” explanations, but decided to go easy on him.  It got me to thinking though.  If I hadn’t told my son the TRUTH, he might still be a believer.

Comments»

1. sandysays1 - December 23, 2008

Hmmmm, you mean my human’s been lying to me? I prefer to believe. I get more that way. Anyway I like to believe the spirit of kindness, love, and goodness is alive and Santa is just a symbol of it.

Like


Leave a Reply

