jump to navigation

True Blood July 2, 2009

Posted by alwaysjan in TV/Film.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

After reading Twilight, with its endless descriptions of Edward’s chest, I swore off vampires.  Later, when my book club read Three Cups of Tea,  I even threatened to make a Venn Diagram to compare and contrast adjectives used to describe Edward’s chest with those used to describe the mountains in Afghanistan.  

But,  I have to admit that I enjoy watching True Blood on HBO.  First, it’s got a mighty fine theme song by Jace Alexander.  And how can I not love a show that, with all seriousness, has characters spew lines like “Clearly, she’s no fan of the fang.”  

I’ve written before about Narcissistic Personality Disorder (NPD) and used the vampire analogy.  So last week when a character said, “He used me up and sucked me dry.  It was like I was his snack machine!” it was music to my ears.  Yeah, I’m a fan of the fang.

Comments»

1. Catherine Sherman - July 2, 2009

How could I resist clicking on this YouTube video with the racy photo? As it happens, that was one of the tamer scenes, ha, ha. Today, I had to choose one of three views for my YouTube video, and I chose the can can dance hall girls over a view of trees. Imagine that! I haven’t read a vampire book since Interview with the Vampire, and I don’t need to tell you how long ago that was! But I enjoyed this, even if I will never watch the show. I fainted in high school biology class when we had to prick our fingers to get our blood types.

And yes, vampires are a great analogy for people with NPD! Maybe that’s why we avoid them, too.

Like

2. janelleholden - July 5, 2009

I agree that there were too many descriptions of Edward’s chest in Twilight, but I did warm up to vampire stories after reading the series. I’ve never read Anne Rice, but I just wasn’t into adding humans with fangs to my list of nightmares. Anyway, I’ll have to order it from Netflix – we shut off the television for the summer. 🙂

Like

3. Michelle - July 29, 2009

I just got hooked on Twilight and now True Blood. I have always had a weird fascination with Vampires… maybe that’s why I keep going back to the guys with NPD. Also, I didn’t mind the descriptions of Edward’s alabaster chest. I thought it was hot! As is True Blood!

Like


Leave a Reply

