jump to navigation

Facebook Alert July 26, 2009

Posted by alwaysjan in Food for Thought.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback
pigdog

Penny the dog/pig protects her pictures on Facebook.

 

 

I received the following ALERT from two friends on Facebook today.

“ALERT:  Facebook has agreed to let third party advertisers use your posted pictures without your permission.  To prevent this,  click on “Settings” up at the top where you see the “Logout” link. Select “Privacy.”  Then select “News Feed and Wall.”  Next, select the tab that reads “Facebook Ads.” In the drop down box, select “No One.” Then save your changes. Help your friends…cut and paste this into your status.”

I googled this as I’m not prone to hysteria and found everything you need to know in a July 24 article from  The Los Angeles Times.

If anything, it’s a cautionary tale about reading the fine print.  I’ve already done the reset.  My worst fear is having MY face on one of those on-line ads where the windshield wiper sweeps away all the the wrinkles (that is unless I’m the “After.”)  >wink<

Comments»

1. Catherine Sherman - July 26, 2009

Lately, I’ve become more and more territorial about the photos I take partly because it seems that the skill and effort of the photographer is being devalued because everyone thinks everything on the internet dropped from the sky. I’m as guilty of that as anyone. Facebook’s use of our photos in ads is just one more devaluation. Of course, we’re using the facebook service at no charge….or so we think. Have we made a pact with the devil (not literally, of course) when we use all of these internet services for free, including wordpress. I don’t know. I’m hooked. Anyway, I did deny ad access to my photos on facebook, but it’s probably like putting my finger in a hole in the dam.
I can just imagine unsuspecting college kids whose fb photos at parties appear in ads for beer…and what if it wasn’t a cool beer!

Like


Leave a Reply

