jump to navigation

Keep Calm and Carry On December 28, 2009

Posted by alwaysjan in Food for Thought.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

When I saw this sign at our friends’ house, I thought it was the perfect sign for the times. Let’s face it, 2009 has been a lousy year for so many, and 2010 seems to be shaping up as more of the same. I had no idea that Keep Calm and Carry On was designed in 1939 by the British government’s Ministry of Information at the beginning of WW II.

“Keep Calm and Carry On”  has since become part of public domain and can be found in various incarnations (posters, mugs, t-shirts) on Amazon and etsy. Our friends’ copy  featured light blue printing on a black board which was propped on their mantle. There’s even a parody urging people to “Panic and Run Away.”

The original poster was intended as a “last case scenario” to be used only should the Nazis succeed in invading Great Britain, in order to stiffen resolve.” according to my uber source for all information – Wikipedia.

Now even Wikipedia’s founder, Jimmy Wales, is grubbing for donations which doesn’t bode well. In my neck of the woods, there’s talk of cutting another 82 teachers and increasing class sizes yet again. Here I am half-way through my masters program, and they’re considering freezing column increases, which would put the kabbash on that pay increase I’m working toward. None of it’s good. I’m afraid after seeing The Road and Rec in the same day, a last case scenario seems closer than I’d like to think. But in the meantime – Keep Calm and Carry On.

Comments»

1. tina - December 29, 2009

This could also be posted in all airports now that we’ve had another attempted body bombing. A FB friend suggested that everyone be required to fly naked so as to avoid further creative explosives-stashing efforts.
Budget forecasts are certainly keeping us guessing. Buddy’s position will likely end as the proposed cuts are made. For my part, I’m clearing out closets in case I need to live in one and rent out the rest of my house.
Cheers,
Tina

Tina – Hey, at least you have closets. We’ve been trying to figure out how many families we can fit in our compound, er I mean house. I might be fighting you for tenants. I hope Joe is perfecting that “stiff upper lip” so he can teach us a thing or two. Jan

Like

2. asbestasican - December 29, 2009

Oh, Lordy! You went to see “The Road?” You’re a braver man than I, Gunga Din. I read the book. It was awful, but I couldn’t put it down (yeah, I’m THAT person during a car wreck). Still, that was enough for me. I don’t think I could handle the movie.

Our district is talking about cutting 100 people as well. It just makes sense doesn’t it? It makes what we do THAT much easier. Sheesh. Good luck, Jan. Sending positive thoughts your way.

Happy New Year.
Ms. Whiz

Ms. Whiz – My husband and older son read the book, so I didn’t know what I was in for. They complained the movie didn’t do the book justice, while my younger son, who prides himself on not reading >grimace<, said that was just another reason why people shouldn't read books. Yes, the movie was grim. The only bright spot was the boy got to drink the last Coke on Earth. 🙂 Jan

Like

3. Janelle - December 30, 2009

I swear I didn’t see your blog post before I titled mine, “Everybody Just Keep Calm”! But they fit perfectly together. I love the sign that you posted. Let’s hope that 2010 is a better year for everyone, and especially for teachers (god knows you deserve it!). Happy New Year, and my advice is to go out and see a harmless romantic comedy as the antidote for “The Road.”

Janelle – We did top off that night be watching “Death at a Funeral” yet again. Hope Doug’s job is safe up there. I imagine you have a more stable student population (in more ways than one). 🙂 Jan

Like

4. Catherine Sherman - December 31, 2009

This is literally the darkest time of the year, but tonight (Dec. 31) there’s a full moon (misnamed a blue moon, I’ve just found out), the second this month, so that’s a gift. Something to howl at when you don’t feel like being calm.

We read “The Road” in book club, and like asbestasican above, I thought it was the bleakest book I’ve ever read, but could not put it down. If I watch the movie, I’ll put it on the smallest screen I can find to diminish the grimness. I noticed that the whole book was in shades of gray with only a splash of red here and there…you know what the red is.

I’m going to send you a link to an article about the California budget, which mentions some unnecessary state entities that aren’t being cut as they serve as jobs for politicians forced out because of term limits. It’s time that money was directed to the schools!

My daughter is very excited about touring with her fiance’s band. It’s booked through August. I hope they make their expenses. They don’t seem worried at all about finances, the state of the world or the fact they will be officially homeless. I’m worrying for her. Yikes! They are staying calm and carrying on, I guess.

I’m optimistic about 2010, because that’s the only way I can carry on. At least I don’t think it’s as bad as 1939…

I’m wishing you a great year. I’m grateful and lucky to have a great friend like you!

Cathy – Let’s face it. Your daughter is going on The Road! LOL I feel the same way about your friendship. Now that you daughter is on the Left Coast we can more of each other too. You always did have that thing for palm trees! Jan

Like

5. Christine - January 1, 2010

I bought a little red book called Keep Calm Carry On, for Paul when I was in the St. Paul’s Cathedral gift shop in London. It has some really uplifting sayings that aren’t treacly. You would enjoy it.

Like

6. Bev from england - January 8, 2010

we brits are good at keeping calm and carrying on, stiff upper lip and all that…atm were keeping calm and carrying on in the most snow weve had for several years. Far less snow than many countries have every year but somehow were always totally unprepared for something as disruptive as ..snow…so all we can do is KCACO ( keep cal……)

the economy here shows no sign of improving either…it wasnt our best year last year with my husband losing his job….the worry of it is bad enough but its another thing when it actually happens. We were lucky that he soon found another job and very lucky that its a 10 mins walk away so..snow problem getting there atm 😉

id not heard of the road…but im interested to read or watch it…seems like a reminder that things could be worse !

as for nazis….i had my own personal invasion from one of them…well a germ at least 😉 i dont think i kept very calm but i always carried on..and im pleased to say i won the war 😉 …..eventually !

HUGS

Bev – I’ve been following the record snowfall in England. Stay warm. As for your own German invasion – I’d like to think that the good guys always win – ultimately. 🙂 Jan

Like


Leave a Reply

