jump to navigation

Dog Bless You! March 13, 2011

Posted by alwaysjan in Worth Knowing.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Dog is God spelled backwards – or maybe it’s the other way around. So when I read about Dog Bless You and filmmaker and philanthropist Charles Weingarten’s Facebook challenge to raise funds and send search and rescue dogs to Japan, I was in. Click.

While our recently rescued pit bull pup from the Pasadena Humane Society, Layla, is busy teething on my shoes, there are dogs out there who have a Day Job saving lives. All you have to do is go onto the website and click Like, and you’ve done your good deed for the day.

Speaking of working dogs, I couldn’t sleep the other night and found myself in front of my computer reading, with tears running down my face, about the incredible bond between Scottish soldier Liam Tasker and his dog Theo, who both died the same day in Afghanistan. Lance Corporal Tasker’s parents said their son told them he’d found his calling – working with dogs. Theo was cremated and his ashes returned home with his master’s body. The funeral route was lined with people and their dogs.

In this undated image, Lance Corporal Liam Tasker trains with his military working dog, Theo, in Camp Bastion, Afghanistan. Tasker, who served the Royal Army Veterinary Corps, was killed in a firefight with insurgents in Helmand Province. Theo, his bomb-sniffing springer spaniel, suffered a fatal seizure hours after Tasker died.

Comments»

1. Catherine Sherman - March 19, 2011

Hi, I just posted a Japan Animal Rescue post and then came here to get caught up on your blog and saw this! I “liked” Dog Bless You. You can also “like” “Japan Earthquake Animal Rescue and Support” on Facebook.

I’d been thinking a lot about Japan before the earthquake, because I recently got some sales from there and had been adding Japanese to my website. As I did so, I thought so much about a trip there in 2002 and what a wonderful, fascinating place it is — futuristic and full of tradition and history in an amazing blend. The people were very friendly. And great animal lovers!

Coincidentally, I’ve been working this week on photographs for a tech company at SXSW!

Catherine – Whenever you’re working on photographs for $, that’s great news! I would love to have gone to SXSW. Last year WordPress hosted a barbeque there. (Teachers will go wherever there’s free food!) Maybe next year (hint, hint!)
I’ll have to go onto the other site and press Like. When I see the pictures coming out of Japan, it all seems overwhelming. With the snow, I think a load of warm blankets/coats is in order as well. Jan

Like

Catherine Sherman - March 19, 2011

Lance Corporal Liam Tasker and Theo was definitely a heart-breaking story.

Catherine – I had the opportunity to talk to several K-9 cops who said they trusted their dogs with their lives and vice-versa. That’s an incredible bond to have – and to have broken. Jan

Like


Leave a Reply

